Data Providers

The institutions listed below have provided access to collection items from colonial contexts via this portal. If you have questions about their holdings or about particular collection items, please contact the institution in question.

  • Organization
    Museum
    Number of objects: 286

    The BASA Museum of the Department for the Anthropology of the Americas at the University of Bonn holds more than 10,000 objects, the majority of which are from the Americas. A smaller part of the collection also includes objects from Africa, Asia and Oceania. The collection focuses on archaeological objects from the Andean region and Mesoamerica as well as ethnographic objects from the Amazon region and the Andean highlands. The provenances of these objects lie outside of formal colonial rule (case group 2) as defined by the German Museums Association (DMB) guidelines for handling of collection items from colonial contexts. Determining the quantity and value of objects from colonial contexts is only possible through provenance research.

    In the WissKI database, used by the BASA Museum since late 2019, around 950 objects are currently publicly accessible. The long-term objective is to gradually make the entire collection accessible through the database.

    Currently accessible objects mainly include those from the Trimborn and Oberem collections from Central and South America. Hermann Trimborn founded the Department of Ethnology and the Ethnological Teaching and Study Collection at the University of Bonn in 1948, thereafter acting as director of both. Udo Oberem was Trimborn's student and successor. The objects from both collections were transferred to the Teaching and Study Collection in the 1950s and 1960s. They originate predominantly from the Andean highlands and Costa Rica and include a roughly equal number of archaeological and ethnographic artifacts acquired on research trips.

    The information on objects from the Trimborn and Oberem collections in the database is taken from the respective inventory book and index cards. The latter were created retrospectively for individual artifacts with the help of student assistants from the 1970s onwards. The provided information may therefore not be up-to-date with the current state of research. The research database will be updated with new findings about the objects from ongoing and future projects conducted by students and researchers as well as from collaborative research with members of the societies of origin.

  • Organization

    digiCULT-Verbund eG

    Favorite
    Museum
    Number of objects: 823
  • Organization

    Ethnographische Sammlung

    Favorite
    Research
    Number of objects: 6

    Philipps University of Marburg’s Ethnographic Collection, established in the 1920s, includes objects from the Wiesbaden Collection of Nassau Antiquities, which sold its non-European collections in the 1960s. These are predominantly objects from the 19th century that colonial civil servants and officers gifted to the Wiesbaden Museum. The Ethnographic Collection also includes the scientific collections of Theodor Koch-Grünberg (1872-1924), a scholar who studied South America. Between 800 and 1,000 objects are presumed to have originated from formal colonies, while another 2500 potentially originated from colonial contexts outside formal colonial rule. Together with the Ethnographic Collection of the Oberhessisches Museum (Museum of Upper Hesse) in Gießen, UMR’s Ethnographic Collection is currently investigating the colonial origins of some of its sub-collections thanks to funding from the German Lost Art Foundation. One objective of the research project is to reconstruct the biographies of around 60 objects from the East African region (particularly Tanzania) and Cameroon.

  • Organization
    Research
    Number of objects: 34

    The Ethnographic Collection of the University of Göttingen is one of the most important teaching and research collections in the German-speaking world. Its beginnings date back to the time of the Enlightenment.

    The history of the Ethnographic Collection began 1773 with the establishment of the Academic Museum at Göttingen University. Thanks to the initiative of the professor of medicine Johann Friedrich Blumenbach, cultural artefacts from the South Seas ("Cook/Forster Collection") and the Arctic polar region ("Baron von Asch Collection") were brought to Göttingen in the second half of the 18th century. After Blumenbach's death in 1840, the collection was initially cared for by scholars from other disciplines. In 1928, anthropological teaching began in Göttingen with the available objects.

    At present, the collection comprises of about 18,000 objects from all continents. Furthermore, graphics and paintings, archival materials, photographs as well as hands-on objects of museum education are part of its inventory. As part of digitization measures, the collection has been increasingly viewable in the online collection portal of the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Holdings from colonial contexts are also included in the database of the Lower Saxony provenance research project PAESE. The analog inventory catalogs are available for download as .pdf files.

    The objects preserved here are explored in research projects under a variety of questions. They are used in seminars for the education of students. In addition, the collection is open to the public in the form of permanent and special exhibitions (currently: closed due to building refurbishment).

  • Organization

    Ethnologisches Museum

    Favorite
    Museum
    Number of objects: 99396

    The Ethnologisches Museum in Berlin, which emerged from the royal Kunstkammer, has been one of the largest and most important of its kind in the world since it was founded in 1873. Its collections contain around 500,000 ethnographic, archaeological and cultural-historical objects from Africa, Asia, America and Oceania. These are supplemented by around 500,000 media (ethnographic photographs, films, videos and audio documents) and more than 588,000 pages of written material.

    The Ethnologisches Museum of Staatliche Museen zu Berlin critically examines the legacy and consequences of colonialism and the role and perspective of Europe. Reflections on its own point of view and partnerships with the societies of origin in Africa, Asia, Oceania and America are intended to reveal one-sided Eurocentric views without denying the existing European references. Since September 2021, the Ethnologisches Museum has been showing its newly designed exhibitions in the Humboldt Forum in the center of Berlin.

    The often complex acquisition and appropriation processes of the objects in the Ethnologisches Museum are difficult to reconstruct today. It is therefore difficult to decide whether they were produced, collected or exported in colonial contexts. Even when information is available, different people do not always come to the same conclusions. In order to facilitate the discussion about the colonial contexts of collection objects with a broader public and with partners from the regions of origin, the Ethnologisches Museum not only shows objects on this portal that undoubtedly originate from colonial contexts, but all of the museum's published object. In an effort to maximize transparency, this is intended to support the discussion about the colonial contexts of the collections. The data of the Ethnologisches Museum is continuously revised, enriched with new findings and updated twice a year in this portal.

    The archive materials and the historical collection registers in the Ethnologisches Museum are of particular importance for reconstructing the historical acquisition and appropriation processes. Digital copies of the acquisition books can be viewed on the museum website. The acquisition books were digitized as part of the DFG project "Digitization of the historical archive in the Ethnological Museum - 1830-1947" . As part of the project, all collection catalogs and archive materials from the period from 1830 to 1947 currently held by the Ethnologisches Museum were digitized and made accessible online. The finding aid created as part of the project provides central access to the digitized collection. In addition, the digitized documents and their associated indexing data can be accessed via the online database of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.

  • Organization
    Research
    Number of objects: 34
  • Organization
    Museum
    Number of objects: 150

    The Staatliche Ethnographische Sammlungen Sachsen, SES (State Ethnographic Collections of Saxony) consist of the three ethnological museums in Leipzig, Dresden and Herrnhut. The three museums form part of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (Dresden State Art Collections) and hold around 350,000 objects, 200,000 pictorial documents and 350,000 library units at the three locations. This makes the SES the second largest ethnological collection in Germany. Its most important tasks include researching the collections, especially with regard to their contexts of origin and acquisition circumstances, digitising the collection and elaborating new exhibition focal points. These tasks are carried out in cooperation with international partners. An example of the new orientation of the SES is the REINVENTING.GRASSI.SKD future programme in Leipzig, which is funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (Federal Cultural Foundation) in the course of the Initiative für ethnologische Sammlungen (Initiative for Ethnological Collections). In several sub-projects, the museum with its current permanent exhibition will be transformed into a network museum until 2023, which reflects on its own history and provides impulses for current and future-relevant questions in thematically structured exhibition areas.

    The SES position themselves actively in the context of international debates around the colonial history of ethnological museums as well as questions of restitution and repatriation. Therefore, the SES aim to create transparency about their collections and to engage in researching their provenance, wherever possible in the framework of international collaborative projects. Dealing with the history of the objects' origins, the genesis of the collection and the history of the institution is a top priority. As an example, a current provenance research project, funded by the Deutsche Zentrum für Kulturgutverluste (German Centre for the Loss of Cultural Property), is investigating colonial-era collections from Togo. The SES also hold one of the largest collections from the former Kingdom of Benin in present-day Nigeria. The 263 objects that can be viewed online here largely date back to the violent conquest and looting of the royal palace by British soldiers in 1897. These so-called Benin bronzes have become a symbol of colonial seizure. The SES have co-signed the Erklärung zum Umgang mit den Benin-Bronzen in deutschen Museen (Declaration on the Handling of Benin Bronzes in German Museums) of 29 April 2021.

    You can find out more about the approaches of the three SES museums on the internet platforms „Decolonize“ Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig: Dekolonisierung, Restitution und Repatriierung (skd.museum) and SKD: Provenienzforschung.

  • Organization
    Research
    Number of objects: 286
  • Organization

    Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth

    Favorite
    Museum
    Number of objects: 16

    The collection holdings within African studies at the University of Bayreuth are situated within various academic disciplines. As an umbrella institution consolidating all specifically African-related departments at the university, the Institute for African Studies supports their research and teaching. Thus, literary studies and linguistics are likewise linked to the research and collections of Africa Studies, as are religious studies, ethnology, art history and Bildwissenschaften, theatre, music and media studies.

    Some of the bequeathed collections comprise large quantities of travel, documentary and portrait photography from colonial contexts. The earliest photographic documentations of research trips to eastern and south-western Africa date to 1933. Other image collections comprise photographs from teaching and research activities on the territories of today’s South Africa, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe from the 1930s to 1960s. In addition to the documentary images from the holdings, the digital collection also includes portrait and studio photographs from 1910 onwards that were taken in Nairobi in what was then “British East Africa”.

    The collection at the Iwalewahaus encompasses internationally reputed objects of modern and contemporary art as well as posters, photographs and supplementary documentation materials pertaining to research and to the history of exhibitions and individual objects. As well as African countries, India, Papua New Guinea, and Australia, among other countries, are listed as regions of origin for the very wide-ranging objects in the collection.

    During the 1920s, illustrative works on paper were created in what was then the colony of the “Belgian Congo”. These are among the oldest works in the art collection. The collection also includes drawings by 12 patients at the Lantoro Mental Home in Abeokuta, Nigeria, created during the colonial area. This group of works by Abeokuta artists was created during the years 1951–52.

    The collections with a connection to Africa at the University of Bayreuth are available for digital access by degrees via Collections@UBT, supported by the team of the Research Data Management. The digital presentation will be continuously revisited and enhanced.

    You can find further information about the Institute for Africa Studies and the Iwalewahaus at the University of Bayreuth as well as contact information for the collection’s curators at the following websites:

  • Organization
    Research
    Number of objects: 403

Datenpartner

Die nachfolgend aufgeführten Einrichtungen machen Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten über dieses Portal zugänglich. Bei Fragen zu den Beständen oder einzelnen Sammlungsgegenständen kontaktieren Sie bitte die betreffende Einrichtung.

  • Organisation
    Museum
    Anzahl von Objekten: 286

    Das BASA-Museum der Abteilung für Altamerikanistik der Universität Bonn umfasst mehr als 10.000 Objekte, von denen der überwiegende Teil aus den Amerikas stammt. In geringerem Maße sind auch Objekte aus Afrika, Asien und Ozeanien vertreten. Sammelschwerpunkte sind archäologische Objekte aus dem Andenraum und Mesoamerika sowie ethnographische Objekte aus dem Amazonasgebiet und dem Andenhochland. Die Provenienzen dieser Objekte liegen außerhalb formaler Kolonialherrschaften (Fallgruppe 2) im Sinne des Leitfadens des Deutschen Museumsbundes (DMB) zum Umgang mit Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten. Die Anzahl der Objekte aus kolonialen Kontexten und deren Bewertung kann erst durch Provenienzforschung ermittelt werden.

    In der Datenbank WissKI, die das BASA-Museum seit Ende 2019 nutzt, sind derzeit circa 950 Objekte öffentlich zugänglich. Nach und nach wird der gesamte Sammlungsbestand durch die Datenbank zugänglich gemacht werden.

    Zu den derzeit abrufbaren Objekten zählen hauptsächlich jene der Sammlung Trimborn und Oberem aus Mittel- und Südamerika. Hermann Trimborn war der Gründer und Leiter des Seminars für Völkerkunde und der ethnologischen Lehr- und Studiensammlung an der Universität Bonn seit 1948. Udo Oberem war Schüler und Nachfolger von Trimborn. Die musealen Objekte der beiden Sammlungen wurden in den 1950er und 1960er Jahren in die Lehr- und Studiensammlung überführt. Diese stammen überwiegend aus dem Andenhochland und Costa Rica. Zu etwa gleichen Teilen handelt es sich um archäologische und ethnographische Artefakte, die auf Forschungsreisen erworben wurden.

    Die Informationen zu den Objekten der Sammlungen Trimborn und Oberem in der Datenbank sind dem Inventarbuch und den Karteikarten entnommen. Letztere wurden erst ab den 1970er Jahren für die einzelnen Artefakte mit Hilfe studentischer Hilfskräfte retrospektiv angelegt. Diese Informationen entsprechen somit nicht dem aktuellen Forschungsstand. Aktualisierungen und neue Erkenntnisse über die Objekte aus laufenden und zukünftigen Projekten von Studierenden und Forschenden sowie durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Angehörigen der Urhebergesellschaften sollen in die Forschungsdatenbank einfließen.

  • Organisation

    digiCULT-Verbund eG

    Merken
    Museum
    Anzahl von Objekten: 823
  • Organisation

    Ethnographische Sammlung

    Merken
    Forschung
    Anzahl von Objekten: 6

    Die Ethnographische Sammlung der Philipps-Universität Marburg, gegründet in den 1920er Jahren, enthält unter anderem Objekte aus der Wiesbadener Sammlung Nassauischer Altertümer, die in den 1960er Jahren ihre nicht-europäischen Sammlungen verkaufte. Es handelt sich dabei überwiegend um Objekte aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, die von Kolonialbeamten und -offizieren dem Wiesbadener Museum geschenkt worden waren. Zu der Ethnographischen Sammlung gehört auch der wissenschaftliche Nachlass des Südamerika-Forschers Theodor Koch-Grünberg (1872-1924). 800 bis 1.000 Objekte stammen vermutlich aus formalen Kolonien, weitere 2.500 möglicherweise aus kolonialen Kontexten außerhalb formaler Kolonialherrschaft. Gemeinsam mit der Ethnographischen Sammlung des Oberhessischen Museums in Gießen erforscht die Ethnographische Sammlung der Philipps-Universität, gefördert durch das Deutsche Zentrum Kulturgutverluste, derzeit Teilbestände ihrer Sammlungen auf ihre koloniale Herkunft. Ziel des Forschungsprojekts ist u.a. die Rekonstruktion der Objektbiographien von ca. 60 Objekten aus der Region Ostafrika (insbesondere Tansania) und aus Kamerun.

  • Organisation
    Forschung
    Anzahl von Objekten: 34

    Die Ethnologische Sammlung der Universität Göttingen ist eine der bedeutendsten Lehr- und Forschungssammlungen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Ihre Anfänge reichen bis in die Zeit der Aufklärung zurück.

    Die Geschichte der Sammlung beginnt im Jahr 1773 mit dem Entstehen des Academischen Museums an der Göttinger Universität. Der Initiative des Medizinprofessors Johann Friedrich Blumenbach ist es zu verdanken, dass in der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts Kulturzeugnisse aus der Südsee („Cook/Forster-Sammlung“) und der arktischen Polarregion („Baron von Asch-Sammlung“) nach Göttingen gelangten. Nach Blumenbachs Tod im Jahr 1840 wurde die Sammlung zunächst von Gelehrten anderer Disziplinen betreut. 1928 begann mit den vorhandenen Objekten der ethnologische Fachunterricht in Göttingen.

    Aktuell umfasst die Sammlung ca. 18.000 Objekte aus allen Kontinenten. Weiterhin zählen Grafiken und Gemälde, Archivalien, Fotografien sowie Hands-On-Objekte der Museumspädagogik zu ihrem Bestand. Im Rahmen von Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen ist die Sammlung auch zunehmend im Online-Sammlungsportal der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen einsehbar. Bestände aus kolonialien Kontexten werden zustäzlich in die Datenbank des niedersächsischen Provenienzforschungs-Verbundprojetes PAESE eingespeist. Die analogen Bestandskataloge stehen als .pdf-Dateien zum Download zur Verfügung.

    Die bewahrten Gegenstände werden in Forschungsprojekten unter vielfältigen Fragestellungen erschlossen. In Seminaren finden sie zur Ausbildung der Studierenden Verwendung. Darüber hinaus ist die Sammlung in Form von Dauer- und Sonderausstellungen der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich (zur Zeit: geschlossen wegen Generalsanierung).

  • Organisation

    Ethnologisches Museum

    Merken
    Museum
    Anzahl von Objekten: 99396

    Das aus der Königlichen Kunstkammer hervorgegangene Berliner Ethnologische Museum gehört seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1873 zu den international größten und bedeutendsten seiner Art. In seinen Sammlungen befinden sich ungefähr 500.000 ethnografische, archäologische und kulturhistorische Objekte aus Afrika, Asien, Amerika und Ozeanien. Diese werden durch etwa 500.000 Medien (ethnografische Fotografien, Filme, Videos und Tondokumente) und mehr als 588.000 Seiten Schriftgut ergänzt.

    Das Ethnologische Museum der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin setzt sich mit dem Erbe und den Konsequenzen des Kolonialismus, mit der Rolle und der Perspektive Europas kritisch auseinander. Reflexionen des eigenen Standpunkts und Partnerschaften mit den Herkunftsgesellschaften in Afrika, Asien, Ozeanien und Amerika sollen einseitige eurozentrische Sichtweisen offenlegen, ohne die bestehenden europäischen Bezüge zu verleugnen. Seit September 2021 zeigt das Ethnologische Museum seine neu konzipierten Ausstellungen im Humboldt Forum im Zentrum Berlins.

    Die häufig komplexen Erwerbungs- und Aneignungsprozesse der heute im Ethnologischen Museum befindlichen Objekte sind schwer zu rekonstruieren. Somit ist es schwierig, zu entscheiden, ob diese in kolonialen Kontexten hergestellt, aufgesammelt, oder ausgeführt wurden. Selbst wenn Informationen hierzu vorliegen, kommen unterschiedliche Personen nicht immer zu gleichen Beurteilungen. Um die Diskussion über koloniale Kontexte von Sammlungsobjekten mit einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit und mit Partnerinnen und Partnern aus den Herkunftsregionen zu führen, zeigt das Ethnologische Museum auf diesem Portal nicht nur Objekte, die zweifelsfrei aus kolonialen Kontexten stammen, sondern alle veröffentlichten Objektdatensätze des Museums. Im Bemühen um maximale Transparenz soll auf diese Weise die Diskussion um die kolonialen Kontexte der Sammlungen unterstützt werden. Die Daten des Ethnologischen Museums werden fortlaufend überarbeitet, mit neuen Erkenntnissen angereichert und zwei Mal pro Jahr in diesem Portal aktualisiert.

    Für die Rekonstruktion der historischen Erwerbungs- und Aneignungsprozesse sind die Archivmaterialien sowie die historischen Sammlungsverzeichnisse im Ethnologischen Museum von besonderer Bedeutung. Digitalisate der Erwerbungsbücher sind auf der Museumswebseite einsehbar. Die Digitalisierung der Erwerbungsbücher erfolgte im DFG-Projekt „Digitalisierung des historischen Archivs im Ethnologischen Museum - 1830-1947“. Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden alle heute im Ethnologischen Museum befindlichen Sammlungsverzeichnisse und Archivmaterialien des Zeitraums von 1830 bis 1947 digitalisiert und online zugänglich gemacht. Das im Projekt erstellte Findbuch ermöglicht einen zentralen Einstieg in den digitalisierten Bestand. Zusätzlich können die digitalisierten Dokumente und ihre zugehörigen Erschließungsdaten über die Onlinedatenbank der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin abgerufen werden.

  • Organisation
    Forschung
    Anzahl von Objekten: 34
  • Organisation
    Museum
    Anzahl von Objekten: 150

    Die Staatlichen Ethnographischen Sammlungen Sachsen (SES) bestehen aus den drei ethnologischen Museen in Leipzig, Dresden und Herrnhut. Der Verbund gehört zu den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden und beherbergt an den drei Standorten rund 350.000 Objekte, 200.000 Bilddokumente und 350.000 bibliothekarische Einheiten. Damit bilden die SES die zweitgrößte ethnologische Sammlung in Deutschland. Zu ihren wichtigsten Aufgaben gehören die Erforschung der Sammlungen, insbesondere hinsichtlich ihrer Herkunftskontexte und Erwerbungsumstände, die Digitalisierung der Bestände sowie neue Schwerpunktsetzungen in den Ausstellungen. Diese Aufgaben werden in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Partner*innen umgesetzt. Beispielhaft für die Neuausrichtung der SES ist das von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes im Rahmen der Initiative für ethnologische Sammlungen geförderte Zukunftsprogramm REINVENTING.GRASSI.SKD am Standort Leipzig. In mehreren Teilprojekten wandelt sich bis 2023 das Museum mit seiner bisherigen Dauerausstellung hin zu einem Netzwerkmuseum, das sich reflexiv mit der eigenen Geschichte beschäftigt und in thematisch orientierten Ausstellungsbereichen Impulse zu aktuellen und zukunftsrelevanten Fragestellungen gibt.

    Die SES möchten sich im Kontext internationaler Debatten um die Aufarbeitung der kolonialen Geschichte ethnologischer Museen sowie Fragen der Restitution und Repatriierung aktiv positionieren. Hierfür wollen die SES Transparenz über ihre Bestände schaffen und diese in internationalen kollaborativen Projekten erforschen. Dabei stehen eine Beschäftigung mit der Herkunftsgeschichte der Objekte, der Sammlungsgenese und der Institutionsgeschichte an oberster Stelle. So werden in einem derzeitigen Provenienzforschungsprojekt, finanziert durch das Deutsche Zentrum für Kulturgutverluste, kolonialzeitliche Sammlungen aus Togo erforscht. Die SES besitzen zudem eine der größten Sammlungen aus dem ehemaligen Königreich Benin im heutigen Nigeria. Die hier online einsehbaren 263 Objekte gehen größtenteils auf die gewaltsame Eroberung und Plünderung des Königspalastes durch britische Soldaten im Jahr 1897 zurück. Diese sogenannten Benin-Bronzen sind zu einem Symbol kolonialer Inbesitznahme geworden. Die SES haben die Erklärung zum Umgang mit den Benin-Bronzen in deutschen Museen vom 29. April 2021 mitunterzeichnet.

    Zu den Herangehensweisen der drei Museen der SES können Sie sich auf den Internetplattformen  „Decolonize“ Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig: Dekolonisierung, Restitution und Repatriierung (skd.museum) und SKD: Provenienzforschung informieren.

  • Organisation
    Forschung
    Anzahl von Objekten: 286
  • Organisation

    Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth

    Merken
    Museum
    Anzahl von Objekten: 16

    Die Sammlungsbestände im Bereich der Afrikaforschung der Universität Bayreuth sind in unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen verankert. Als institutionelles Dach aller spezifisch afrikabezogenen Einrichtungen unterstützt das Institut für Afrikastudien deren Forschung und Lehre. So knüpfen Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaften ebenso an die Forschungs- und Sammlungsbestände der Afrikaforschung an, wie die Religionswissenschaften, Ethnologie, Kunst- und Bildwissenschaften, Theater-, Musik- und Medienwissenschaften.

    Einige Nachlässe umfassen große Bildbestände zur Reise-, Dokumentar- und Portraitfotografie aus kolonialen Kontexten. Die ersten fotografischen Dokumentationen von Forschungsreisen im östlichen und dem südwestlichen Afrika entstanden ab 1933. Weitere Bildbestände umfassen Fotografien aus Lehr- und Forschungstätigkeiten in Südafrika, Tansania und Simbabwe der 1930er bis 1960er Jahre. Neben dokumentarischen Bildbeständen beinhält die digitale Sammlung auch Portrait- und Studiofotografien ab 1910, die im Nairobi „Britisch-Ostafrikas“ und später entstanden.

    Die Sammlung am Iwalewahaus umfasst international gefragte Objekte moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst sowie Poster, Fotografien und weiterführende Dokumentationsmaterialien zur Forschung, Ausstellungs- und Objektgeschichte. Neben afrikanischen Ländern sind u.a. Indien, Papua Neu-Guinea oder Australien als Herkunftsregionen unterschiedlichster Sammlungsobjekte gelistet.

    In den 1920er Jahren entstanden in der damaligen Kolonie „Belgisch-Kongo“ graphische Papierarbeiten. Sie zählen zu den ältesten Werken in der Kunstsammlung. Aus der Zeit der britischen Kolonialherrschaft Nigerias finden sich Zeichnungen von 12 Patienten des Lantoro Mental Homes in Abeokuta. Die Werkgruppe der Abeokuta Künstler stammt aus den Jahren 1951/1952.

    Die Sammlungsobjekte mit Afrikabezug an der Universität Bayreuth werden mit Unterstützung des Forschungsdatenmanagement-Teams über Collections@UBT nach und nach digital bereitgestellt. An der digitalen Präsentation wird stetig gearbeitet.

    Weitere Informationen über das Institut für Afrikastudien und das Iwalewahaus der Universität Bayreuth, sowie Kontaktinformationen der Sammlungskurator*innen, entnehmen Sie bitte den folgenden Webauftritten:

  • Organisation
    Forschung
    Anzahl von Objekten: 403